CAIRO, Egypt, South Africa will have to take on African powerhouses Ghana in their bid to qualify for the 2022 Fifa World Cup.

The draw for the group phase of African qualifying was made on Tuesday in Cairo, Egypt.

Alongside South Africa and Ghana in group G are Zimbabwe and Ethiopia. A total of 40 countries will contest the first group phase of qualifying.

The qualifiers start in October, continuing until October 2021.

After the group stage matches, the winners of the 10 groups will qualify to the final round of the continental qualification on the journey to Qatar.

The final round will see the 10 teams drawn into five home and away ties, with the five winners securing the ticket to represent Africa at the tournament scheduled for November 21 to December 18, 2022, in Qatar.


Group A: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Niger, Djibouti

Group B: Tunisia, Zambia, Mauritania, Equatorial Guinea

Group C: Nigeria, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Liberia

Group D: Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Mozambique, Malawi

Group E: Mali, Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda

Group F: Egypt, Gabon, Libya, Angola

Group G: Ghana, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Ethiopia

Group H: Senegal, Congo, Namibia, Togo

Group I: Morocco, Guinea, Guinea-Biisau, Sudan

Group J: DR Congo, Benin, Madagascar, Tanzania

Source: African News Agency